Marinaded and Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ok… so, everyone loves brussels sprouts now that they are available fresh in bags or on a stalk.  Let me come out right now and say I’m old school sprouts–loved them since I was a kid and I pretended that I was a giant eating an entire head of cabbage at a time!  Fee Fi Fo Fum and the whole 9.

But, I do love them now more than ever.  And I, like everyone else (and those on the kale train) can’t get enough of them.  However, this recipe… this recipe right here?… this is my favorite way of preparing them.  I guarantee it: a delicious balance of sweet and savory and sprouty goodness.  Sweetness comes from roasting the sprouts until they caramelize.

I admit, I really recommend TJ’s dijon mustard for this one.  It is super hot coming out of the jar, but really mellows once roasted.  I also suggest adding a little nutmeg, if it suits you–it isn’t necessary, but is a nice addition.  Also, and always, the fresher your spices, the happier you’ll be.  Also, play with your own spice mixes and let me know how you adjust for your taste!  I’d love some new ideas.  I only suggest that you leave the dried herbs (except maybe rosemary) out of it… I find that fresh herbs are great, but dried don’t really have a nice mouth feel when roasting.  A superfine rosemary powder might be the exception.  But, honestly, fresh will do ya better, every time.  If you do use some fresh herbs, remember to, as with all roasted veggies, reserve some and toss with the final roasted sprouts for a flavor boost.

Image courtesy of James Barker / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of James Barker / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Marinaded and Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Prep Time:  20 minutes
Total Time:  approx. 2 hours

Ingredients:

  • 20-30 brussels sprouts (one stalk or bag – if larger, increase the marinade amounts)
  • 3 T creamy dijon mustard
  • 3 T grapeseed or olive oil
  • 1 t ground paprika
  • 1/2 (or more) t ground cayenne
  • 2 t freshly cracked pepper
  • 1 t sea salt

Directions:

  1. Cut all of the brussels sprouts in half, lengthwise.
  2. Whisk the mustard, oil, and spices in a bowl, until oil and mustard are fully incorporated.
  3. Add sprouts, and fold marinade over the sprouts.
  4. Marinade for at least one hour at room temperature.  If marinading for more than 2 hours, keep in fridge.
  5. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  6. On a large, prepared baking sheet (parchment paper or very lightly oiled), place all of the sprouts, cut side down.
  7. Roast in the oven for 30-40 minutes, until the tops show a nice amount of caramelization.  The cut sides should be super golden brown.
2 thoughts on “Marinaded and Roasted Brussels Sprouts

    • Thanks so much, Laura! I will admit this is my most requested side dish. A friend just asked me for it, prompting me to finally post it. Please let me know how it works for you!!

      Like

Comment here

