Mmm-mmm Tofu

In preparation for my late summer soirees with my brilliant and beautiful Nashville friends, I searched out the best tofu marinade in the world.  As I started typing into the big G the words “best tofu mari…”  the following option popped up:  “best tofu marinade ever.”  Ever?  I had to see this.  And when I read i am madame’srecipe: the best damned tofu marinade ever,” I also had to TRY it.   Below is my adaptation of madame’s brilliance at work.

Please note that if you are not vegan, honey is probably fantastic in this, as well.  Also, if you are gf, just use Bragg’s or a quality gf tamari.

I also want to suggest that you use this tofu in sandwiches.  It has so much flavor that it can hold up against any bread and veggies.  If you do the pita thing (do people still do the pita thing), it would be a great filling.  I am (again, as I tested this with my leftovers) thinking more baguette with a little marinade or vegan mayo, lettuce, tomato, and red onion.  Oh yes… yes I am.

I have to agree with her original name… seriously.  But, because I loathe plagiarism, mine is:

Image courtesy of Trader Joe's

Image courtesy of Trader Joe’s

Mmm-mmm  Tofu

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 block extra-firm tofu, pressed
  • 1/4 c Bragg’s liquid aminos, tamari, or soy sauce
  • 1/4 c agave nectar (a little less if you want this to be a bit more savory)
  • 1/8 c tahini
  • 1/8 c grapeseed oil
  • 1 thumb fresh ginger, roughly chopped (or 2 t dry ginger)
  • 2 spring onions, roughly chopped
  • 5 cloves fresh garlic
  • 1/t ground allspice
  • 1 spring onion thinly sliced
  • 2 t cilantro, chiffonade

Instructions:

  1. Marinade: Into a blender add the aminos/tamaria/soy sauce, agave, tahini, grapeseed oil, ginger, onions, garlic, and allspice. Blend until smooth.
  2. Slice or cut your tofu into your preferred size for cooking. If you are going to saute or stir fry this, cube or crumble. If you are going to broil or bake, slice block into 8 slices. (I like slices.)
  3. Add a thin layer of marinade to a dish. Place tofu in dish so that it is in a single layer and pour over the remainder of the marinade.
  4. Marinade for 1 hour or more (I like 2), flipping the tofu over 1/2 way. I do not marinade in the fridge, but am sure that it isn’t too hot in my kitchen when I am doing this. On hot days, feel free to put in fridge.
  5. Pour off the majority of the marinade (or all if you are stir frying) and save. Cook tofu as you like.
  6. Garnish with sliced spring onion and cilantro.

Hint: If broiling, know that this will not get super crispy. However, if you do broil, baste the slices with the extra marinade at least once on each side. Broil until golden and bubbly.
Hint: If stir frying, or (even better) doing an easy fried rice with the tofu, add a little of the marinade at the end and make sure it caramelizes just a bit.

Comment here

