Oatmeal Raisin Cookies by Madhuram’s Eggless Cooking

 

I have to admit, I am 100% a walnut woman when it comes to oatmeal cookies.  Pecans lend to a sweeter cookie, overall.  I love the contrast between bitterness of the walnut and the sweet of the cookie, but I understand that pecans are deelicious.  So, pick your nut and go wild!

Also, I’m all about raisins.  I also suggest not only grinding your own cinnamon when baking, if you can.  When I got my new and lovely burr coffee mill, I cleaned out my hand-held and now use it only to grind baking spices.  I will admit, I tend to grind savory spices with a mortal and pestle. Finally, I highly recommend increasing the cinnamon in this recipe, and maybe adding about 1/4 to 1/2 t clove or allspice as an accompaniment to the cinnamon. But, I like LOTS of spices in my food… bold is my way.  Always adjust any recipe to your own taste.

Thanks to Madhuram’s Eggless Cooking for this one.  Check out her recipe hints (link to original post, below).

Image courtesy of Grant Cochrane / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Grant Cochrane / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 Cup Or 1.5 SticksVegan Butter/Regular Butter, Unsalted (Room Temp)
  • 1 CupLight Brown Sugar
  • 1 TeaspoonFlax Seed Powder
  • 1/4 CupWater
  • 1 TeaspoonVanilla Extract
  • 3/4 CupAll Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 TeaspoonBaking Soda
  • 1/2 TeaspoonSalt (I Used Only 1/4 Teaspoon)
  • 1/2 TeaspoonGround Cinnamon (I Used Only 1/4 Teaspoon)
  • 3 CupsOld Fashioned Rolled Oats (I Used Quick Cooking Oats – Not Instant)
  • 1 CupDried Cranberries Or Cherries Or Raisins Or White/Dark Chocolate Chips (Optional, I Used Raisins)
  • 1 CupToasted And Chopped Walnuts Or Pecans (Optional)
PROCEDURE:
  1. Preheat oven at 350F/180C for 15 minutes. Prepare 2 large baking sheets either greasing it or lining it with parchment paper.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until smooth and creamy. I used a hand mixer.
  3. In a blender, add flax seed powder and water and blend it until it’s foamy.
  4. Add the flax seed mixture and vanilla extract to the creamed butter. Stir it well using a wooden spoon/spatula.
  5. In a medium size bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
  6. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and combine it well using a spatula.
  7. Now stir the oats and other optional ingredients you wish to include.
  8. Drop the batter by a table spoon 2 inches apart. I used an ice cream scoop.
  9. Wet your hands and flatten the cookies so that they are about 1/2 an inch thick.
  10. Bake it for 12-15 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and the centre is little wet.
  11. Remove it from the oven and let it cool in the baking sheet itself for 5 minutes. Then transfer it to a wire rack to cool it completely.

Original post, here.

Comment here

