Kale Chips (obviously)

file000601640704Oh the amazing and satisfying kale chip.  Folks say it is just like a potato chip.  I believe, quite firmly, that those folks have not had a potato chip pass through their lips in a long, long time.  Still, I really do enjoy them.

And, at $4-7 for a tiny bag, it just makes sense to make kale chips for oneself.  In the words of Rebecca Orchant of the Huffington Post:  “they are actually so unfathomably easy to make, so quickly customized, so effortlessly perfected, that if you allow someone to charge you $8.00 for a 4oz. box of them, you have taken leave of your senses. Kale chip lovers of earth, let’s take our senses back!”  I have yet to see a box.

There are a bastion of “recipes” for kale chips out there.  Most of them are very simple (just oil and salt).  But, the thing that is the most confusing to me is the varying temperatures. I figure this:  if you are more on the “raw” side of things, dehydrating seems to be the way to go.  If you are worried less about nutrition and more about getting-the-thing-done, you can do these as high as 400°.  But, if you do go that high, it will only be for about 10 minutes (maybe), and I suggest you keep your eye on them.

Even on my raw food stints, I stay away from dehydrators.  The last thing I want in my kitchen is another gadget.  Besides which, I do get a bit bratty about how much I need to manipulate my food in order to eat it.  I love to cook, surely.  I am not as interested in making carrots and carob seem brownie-ish.  For those who are all into it: do. your. thing.  It just isn’t the way I wanna go.  Alternatively, and depending on the fanciness of your oven, you can bake washed, dry, oil and spices-tossed kale chips in the oven at the lowest temperature (or, if you have a “dehydrate” function).  Real Food Kosher has the most comprehensive directions I’ve found.

What I do want to stress is that a little lime or lemon zest and juice, spices and fresh herbs, and oil make, to me, the most delicious kale chips E V E R.  I hear that you are supposed to get rid of moisture.  I hear all of that.  But if you are slow baking them, and especially on a rack (I used a cookie cooling rack on a cookie sheet), then it works out.  I really like the spice mix in this roasted tofu and kale with pine nuts + delicious surprises from The First Mess recipe.

Comment here

